Somerset ASA

Your cart

Past and Present County Presidents

Paul Chillingworth was inaugurated as the new Somerset ASA County President.

Paul moved to Somerset in 2012 from Hong Kong where he had been President of Mantas Swimming Club. His children initially joined Cheddar Kingfishers and Street Swimming Clubs, and he become treasurer of Street within a couple of weeks of joining. He went on to become Chair in two different spells, and trained as a coach, and then an official, progressing to become a swimming referee in 2019.

Paul continues to regularly coach, and act as a referee at swim meets for a variety of different clubs. He has recently taken on the role of referee training for the county, alongside Chris Metcalfe, and is also the county’s welfare officer, drawing on his experience in this field in education.

His children have swum with a number of clubs in the region, and his daughter has recently started Masters Swimming in Bristol, and his son has represented his native Hong Kong at three World Championships.

1902  J S Walker 1903  J S Walker 1904  M Jones
1905  J C Richardson 1906  H H Newport 1907  F W Wright
1908  G Warne 1909  G H Holway 1910  J Rowsell
1911  Dr L Meade-King 1912  L W Carder 1913  W H Weeks
1914  A J Clare 1915  N J Reynolds 1916 – 1918  No Elections
1919  H Collins 1920  K Pople MC 1921  F G Warwick
1922  P Moffat 1923  D Perry 1924  P S Huggins
1925  R G Jordan 1926  T H Thould 1927  P J Sutton
1928  A E Meyer 1929  H C Foote 1930  F J Stone
1931  F C Banwell 1932  W E Maynard 1933  T J Coles
1934  Sir C Miles 1935  Lt Col H C Metcalfe 1936  L Lott
1937  F Care 1938  C J Young 1939  G F Luttrell
1940 – 1944  No Elections 1945  C G Burrows 1946  C G Burrows
1947  Miss D Harrison 1948  F Bennett 1949  J C Hoyal
1950  Ald W E Maynard 1951  Mrs C M Mitchell 1952  C Squire
1953  G E Allen 1954  G Newbury 1955  L Mills
1956  E K Williamson MBE 1957  E D Lewis 1958  A S Ralph
1959  Supt. C S Ford 1960  Ald W Couch 1961  H E Hallett
1962  Mrs A G Browne 1963  Mrs E E Cookson 1964  C/Supt H K James
1965  D T O’Brien 1966  S Bale 1967  J Derrick
1968  Miss J Davis 1969  Mrs D J Vincent 1970  T Elsom-Rhymes
1971  Mrs P F Salter 1972  R Bray 1973  J Hamblett
1974  Miss P Densum 1975  R A E Blackburn 1976  H H May
1977  G Cutting QPM 1978  M Heath 1979  Mrs J Findlay
1980  D V Toogood 1981  G K Savory 1982  A J Lyons
1983  Mrs D J Vincent 1984  G Hoyland 1985  P Wilson-Chalon
1986  B R Bewley 1987  Mrs J Ford 1988  R Harrison
1989  R V Holman 1990  J Hamblett 1991  D White
1992  D T O’Brien 1993  T Jeal 1994  Dr J M Cooper
1995  Mrs A Reynolds 1996  R Warren 1997  Mrs G Lyons
1998  G Lock 1999  J Merritt 2000  P Brake
2001  U Ruutel 2002  R Reed 2003  Mrs R Johnson
2004  Mrs B Cutting 2005  Mrs S Dors 2006  B G W Batley
2007  Mrs K Savory 2008  Miss S Pusill 2009  A Withers
2010  P Gonsalves 2011  J Farrant 2012  G Cockill
2013  Mrs F Bowen 2014 M G Coles 2015 L Debenham
2016  P Sartain 2017 Mrs A Bashford 2018 C Christmas
2019 Mrs K Podbury 2020 Mrs K Podbury 2021 D Beament
2022 N Chambers 2023 N Purslow  2024 P Chillingworth